Home > about notebook > How can I connect my lap top computer to my desk computer which is connected to internet?

How can I connect my lap top computer to my desk computer which is connected to internet?

How can I connect my lap top computer to my desk computer which is connected to internet?
My desk top computer does not have micro soft office software, my lap top does. My desk top computer is the one connected to the internet. I want to use such software when I am using the internet.

Answer by cyberdoc
Instead of trying to connect both computers and internet, you can connect your laptop to the internet and use it.
If you really want to connect the computers together, you need to buy a switch or a router. Connect both computers to the switch. Connect internet to the desktop and enable Internet connection sharing.
This needs some money, a lot of knowledge and more of patience. If you don’t have any of them, you better use the first option I suggested.


tagged with

  1. Ghosteyes
    January 2, 2011 at 9:07 am

    The easyiest way to do this is just get a router and hook both systems up to it. and it to the modem. if you get a wireless router both can be connected and the laptop can stay portable. but if a router is not an option. you will need a crossover cable. connect it to the laptops. ethernet port and the other end of the cable to a free ethernet port on the desktop. if there is only one port on your desktop and it is taken by the modem then you will need another network card on teh desktop. After this is done you will need to go to config network connections select both local area connections and bridge them.

  2. Luleys mum
    January 2, 2011 at 10:00 am

    why dont you just plug the ethernet cable into your laptop?

  3. Carling
    January 2, 2011 at 10:12 am

    then download openoffice 2.3 it is free to download and as all the same features MS Office 2007 has… plus more besides… you can use it on as many computers as you like, there is no activation key to use…. make sure you dowload the one for windows…

  4. AJ
    January 2, 2011 at 10:55 am

    The most cheapest method is to connect both via a hub and ethernet cables.Turn on internet connection sharing…
    or else use a router(little more expensive) ;).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

